Dia de los Muertos

Yesterday I found myself awake much too early, unable to fall back asleep, nagged by the feeling that if I did not sit down at my computer right then and work out some of this makeup, I was going to kick myself very hard later for procrastinating far past the holiday. I’d been thinking about Dia de los Muertos skull motifs for a week or so but wasn’t sure I wanted to take a stab at it myself. I know loads of big-name skin designers have done skull and sugar skull skins, and if you want a more elaborate or skillful design they’ve got it covered. I went for simple and within my current skillset, although I do try to push myself to try something new each time I work with skins. My current methods and solutions may not be as efficient or elegant as those I may learn in future, but if I don’t try, I won’t learn anything, I’ll just stagnate at a skill level too low for all the ideas kicking around in my head. Someday I will do more, do better, but right now I need to just do something without nitpicking everything too hard.

I’m wearing pieces from the katat0nik/Violet Voltaire Dia de los Muertos collaboration released last year, the orange dress with stockings and skully earrings. I chose a sea shruggie from silent sparrow and teal Heather Boots from ETD for warmth and tones to complement the turquoise in the dress.

You can grab the skins at The Hidey Spot [link removed] or on XstreetSL [link removed] (female skins are considered mature content by default, so enable mature content). L$1 gets you two versions, one plain and one with the flowers/vines. You can also check them out on the lovely Achariya over at the free*style blog. <3

Skin: The Hidey Spot (Starlight September [calavera] decorated [breastA])
Hair: Tiny Bird (The Killing Moon – Pepper)
Eyes: Chai (Allure – Blue 3)
Lashes: Miriel (Lashes – Natural)
Earrings: Violet Voltaire (Dia de los Muertos Earrings)
Shrug: silent sparrow (shruggie – sea)
Dress & Stockings: katat0nik (Dia de los Muertos – orange)
Boots: ETD (Heather Boots – Teal)
Pose (full): Lazy Places ([LP] *katatOnik* 1)
Pose (close): Lazy Places ([LP] I’m Not Cute! 5)
Set: La Petite Morte (Photo Set Hall)

SLURLs

Leave a Reply

